Hot cha cha hot sauce

I have accepted the fact that this year was a tomato failure. The squirrels had a daily buffet of my garden, but they certainly left my hot peppers alone.  I’ve done several hot pepper jams this year. Today I decided to try my hand at a hot sauce.

Burn your face off

Here’s how you do it.

Cut the stems off your peppers and puree in a food processor or blender.  You can make this entire sauce in the food processor. Warning: Do not touch with your hands – and for pete sakes, don’t touch your eyes! You’ll be sorry! I didn’t have any gloves so I put my hands in sandwich bags.

My pepper puree made about 3-3 1/2 cups

2 cups white vinegar

2 Tablespoons of kosher salt

2 Cloves of garlic

Dump into a sauce pan, and bring to a boil.  Process cans as usual. That’s it!

My hot sauce is green – looks kind of cool.

Did you know, Tabasco sauce is fermented for 3 years before sale?  I don’t have that kind of patience.



Leave a comment